When will we ever learn?

Doug and I are both sick now, with a horrible cold, which is annoying both because I prefer to be sick alone and because I prefer not to be sick at all.

I went to work yesterday, and spent my whole shift feeling pretty useless, because I was moving slowly and my head wasn’t screwed on right, but I was honest about it and my coworkers seemed to understand.  “We all have those days,” one friend told me later.

So what I should be doing, today on my day off, is hiding inside my apartment, wrapped in blankets and drinking tea.  I should work on the stocking I’m embroidering for Doug, which has gone neglected since I started dedicating all my free time to this blog.  I should catch up on Grey’s Anatomy, since Dawn has said that once I do that, I can come over to her house every Thursday and we can watch the new episodes together, which I’m really excited about.  I should, in short, take care of myself.

But history has shown that I’m not very good at that.  In high school, apparently, I over-medicated myself and went to the mall when I had a cold.  One of my supervisors told me once that “some work is better than no work,” and I’ve stuck by this, preferring to DayQuil myself senseless and show up anyway – a trick that one time resulted in me flipping out and telling a coworker we were “not friends anymore” over something stupid and petty.

And on a larger scale, of course, I shut out, shut down, and ran from my divorce, when I should have taken time to heal from it and accepted the support being offered to me; and I let the shock of my miscarriage carry me as far as it could, going back to work just two days after my D&C, not realizing until much later how much I was hurting, because I never slowed down enough to check in and find out.

So maybe it’s time to actually take care of myself.  Maybe I should turn off the phone, camp out on the couch, and give myself the appropriate time to heal.  It’s too late for the divorce and the miscarriage – I’m taking care of those retroactively – but it’s not too late for me to find out what it feels like to do what’s right for myself, for my body, at a time when I actually need it.

Only, tomorrow.

Because today we’re going to Disneyland.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When will we ever learn?

  1. Amanda says:

    hahaha! Awesome! Stow Yer Weapons??

  2. Evan G says:

    I totally have that cold too! and the dayquil method has left me grogy and hazy at work the last two days. I blame texas.

  3. Dawn says:

    I wanna go to Disneyland! I think going there will cure your cold. 🙂

Leave a Reply

