Happy Valentine’s Day: a photo essay

When I posted a few weeks ago about how much I love Valentine’s Day, one of my blog friends came up with the idea of posting her wedding picture on this day – and then she and I took that idea viral.  What better day to see the strangers who have been supporting us through our respective journeys than this day, dedicated to the appreciation and expression of all types of love?

Of course, I can’t really participate in my own game, because Doug and I aren’t married.  I thought about posting a picture of myself in a wedding dress – you know, from the first go – but I couldn’t find a decent one without my ex-husband in it, and even if I could, that wouldn’t really be fair to Doug.

So instead, I’m giving you the best I can, which is a short photo essay of my and Doug’s relationship:

The first picture Doug ever took of me, 11/07.

And the first picture I ever took of him, 11/07.

Us at our first apartment in Seattle (which was in the ghetto), 4/08.

At the Portland Arboretum on our due date, 4/17/09.

From hiking in Seattle, 5/09...

...to cycling in San Diego, 5/10.

I had to throw in a picture of Doug with his Guy Fieri hair (getting ready for Halloween), 10/10.

And one where I'm actually wearing a dress, my high school reunion, 11/10.

 

And of course, one from Disneyland, 1/11.

But what probably says it best is the photobooth photo I’ve carried in my wallet for the past three-plus years:

Sorry it's blurry. Photo from 1/08.

Happy Valentines Day, cupcake.  I would not trade this life, with all its misery, injustice, and post-traumatic stress, for anything – because any other life would not have had you in it.  I love you more than I love cannoli.  And that’s saying a lot.

This entry was posted in love. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Happy Valentine’s Day: a photo essay

  1. Elphaba says:

    Yay! You are, somehow, exactly as I imagined you.

    You guys are both adorable 🙂

  2. Elphaba says:

    PS-Is is TOTALLY Guy Fieri with that hair!

  3. Lindsay says:

    Thanks for lurking! I’ve come across you a couple of times and just love your heading 🙂 And the teacup picture is so cute.

    Hope you like your ChocoBuddy and I’m up for adding another if you only got one 🙂
    Email me anytime.

  4. mommyodyssey says:

    I’m with Elphie! That’s exactly how I pictured you too! You make a gorgeous couple, BTW. 🙂

  5. Aramelle says:

    Love, love, love the photo essay! And I love you and Elphie for thinking of this idea!

  6. Arohanui says:

    Love this! Gorgeous! Thanks for the cycling one – although methinks Doug needs more lycra. That last photo is really blurry…I can only make out a question mark 😉

    • Marie says:

      Can you see it now?

      Doug has plenty of lycra/spandex. But when we go to my parents’ house (the backdrop of said photo), he has to cover it up, because my brother Joey freaks and runs from the room if anyone comes in wearing spandex. Which is why Joey will never join our bike gang 😉

      • Arohanui says:

        Yes! I can see it now. I can imagine Joey’s behaviour, an old friend of mine in Melbourne once spent an entire evening (in a pub) telling some strangers how he believed heterosexual men wearing lycra was just fulfilling some type of homo-erotic fetish. I personally don’t get his point. I am very happy to cycle with well-toned men in lycra, anytime 😉

        AND…I have just returned home from checking my mail. THANK YOU!!!!! You are so lovely! I feel very bad that you are spending your hard earned money on me instead of saving it for your trip to Rouen, but your timing is just so perfect. I had a terrible day today. I was awake most of the night with nerve pain from an old injury (stirred up by my tri training yesterday) so I had to cancel a mountain bike ride tonight with my work colleagues. Then my heavily pregnant cousin came to visit (08:30am) and we had a stupid conversation (argument) about the pathophysiology of tendinopathies (she’s a physio). When she left she had a parking ticket (almost unheard of in suburban NZ) because her registration has just expired (if she had parked in my driveway she would have saved $200). Then, just as I was leaving for work I saw something on TV about babies and burst into tears. First time I have been overwhelmed by infertility since my last failed IUI. It shadowed me all afternoon.

        So, thank you lovely lady. You have turned my crappy day into one where I can’t stop smiling 🙂 Tell Doug, it was a little racy but I loved the card too 😉

      • Marie says:

        WOW, already?! Way to go, post office! I just mailed that on Friday!

        I realize it was a day late in NZ, but here, it’s still Valentine’s Day, and I am just frickin’ blown away by the speedy trans-Pacific chocolate delivery.

        So sorry your day was balls. So glad I could help. xoxox

  7. Dawn says:

    You look just like your mom in the first one…..and that haircut is just gorgeous on you! Wish I could pull that off! xoxo Happy Valentine’s Day Sister! 🙂

    • Marie says:

      What??? I never look like my mom! But thank you. I will try to replicate whatever haircut that was next time I decide I’m tired of growing my hair out.

      • Dawn says:

        The cute asymetrical one you got a few months ago…

        And I know you don’t look like her much, but in this picture you do. Plus, you have her grace. 🙂

  8. Courtney says:

    Love these pictures! Yay! And he totally looks like Guy Fieri (who is from here). So funny. You guys are super cute.

  9. Stinky says:

    awww the due date kiss photo put a lump in my throat and tears in my eyes.

    Loving your blog, just started with your mushroom posts

Leave a Reply

