Friday night

I’ve got some good stuff ahead of me.

See, I happen to be shacking up with a man whose entire family was born in the month of April – or at least it seems that way, judging by the amount of groaning they did three years ago, when we told them we had an April due date.  So between their plans, and our plans, and various other plans, there’s something going on every weekend for roughly the next six weeks.  And therefore, we’ve requested those weekends off.

It’s been years since I’ve had weekends off.  In the business we’re in, it just doesn’t happen.  And because this is the first real Friday night in this series of weekends, I want to just revel in my plans for the next several weeks.

Saturday, April 9th: ride bikes if not raining.  Repeat last Saturday’s afternoon of dog-walking and burrito-eating.  Doug’s mom’s actual 50th birthday – go to dinner with family and close friends at local restaurant.

Sunday, April 10th: Disneyland in honor of my nephew, Andrew’s, third birthday.  Plan is for Fantasy and Tomorrow lands, as well as California Adventure park, which includes (my favorite) the Toy Story ride.  Purchase new Mickey Mouse antenna balls.

Saturday, April 16th: TBD, pending official invitation to Doug’s sister’s birthday party – last we heard, it was planned for this day.  If not, however, we may try to stage a weekend getaway.

Sunday, April 17th: One-time due date.  Plans TBD (see Saturday).  If we stay in town, Andrew’s official birthday party is a brunch on this morning, and we can still have the afternoon/evening to spend together doing something nice.  Also, last day of Bakery Closed blog project.

Saturday, April 23rd:  We’ll be at Disneyland again, from Thursday, for Doug’s cousin Torrey’s birthday (which was actually last month).  Spend whole day with awesome relatives visiting from Virginia.

Sunday, April 24th: Easter Sunday.  We actually didn’t request this one off, so we’ll likely be working in the morning, then going to some family or another’s house for dinner.

Saturday, April 29th: Doug’s mom’s 50th birthday party, at fancy country club with cash bar.  Dress up, sneak in own booze, drink, dance, gamble at fake tables.

Sunday, April 30th: Took day off to recover.  No set plan.

Saturday, May 7th: Tour de Cure ride to support diabetes research.  Doug is riding 100 miles.  I am riding 55 miles with my brother Martin, and possibly my dad, who, although healing “like a teenager” from his broken collarbone, won’t be back on the road until the week before.  Please read this, then donate to my ride if you haven’t already.  (And thank you so, so much to those who have.)

Sunday, May 8th: Took day off to recover.  No set plan, but it’s also Mother’s Day, so I’m sure we’ll wind up having dinner with some family or another.

Saturday & Sunday, May 14th-15th: Carrie is coming into town to help me clean out my bedroom at my parents’ house, and rid it of all the stuff that reminds me of my ex: wedding dress, framed photos, love notes, gifts, etc.  Wining/dining/writing silly letters to gay-English-doctor-friend imminent.

Okay, so maybe it’s only five weeks.  Still, I’ve got a lot to look forward to.  As for this, my first Friday night of the series, it’s raining and I’m cozied up at home alone.  I’ve got TV episodes to watch, beer to drink, chocolate to eat, books to read, and legs to shave. 

I’m going to have to cut this short, so I can maximize and relish my time.

This entry was posted in family, friends, future, love, positive thinking, present. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday night

  1. Melissa says:

    I love this list!! Sounds like you have an awesome 5 weeks or so planned. 🙂

  2. bodegabliss says:

    Wow, I’m exhausted just reading that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

